Twas the night before production…

10 Dec

This is a production blog we’ll be keeping for the short film, First Kiss.

Test shoot / shooting our Kickstarter preview

First Kiss follows the story of Adam Schoenberger, a 14-year old romantic who finds out a pretty girl wants to kiss him at his best friend’s spin the bottle party. I wrote the script about a year ago for a Pittsburgh screenwriting competition, where this screenplay came in as one of the finalists. Now, after countless script revisions, test shoots, location scouting adventures, and other mini-dramas of pre-production, we’re making a movie!

We’re working with a dedicated crew, tremendously talented cast, and beautiful locations to shoot this film over the course of the next 10 days here in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

And we’re going into production tomorrow, at 11:00 AM. I can’t sleep, I’m so excited. And nervous. And thrilled. And terrified.

This is how calm, cool, and collected I'd like to seem.

This is how I will actually feel.

Stop judging me, stress cube.

I’ll be posting on here – along with my producers, crew, and cast members – production updates, production stills, behind the scenes footage, and more. Partially because my senior thesis advisor requires it, and partially because making a movie is like eating one of those pint-sized Haagen-Dazs ice cream cups – you start out thinking it’d be a hell of a task to finish one in one sitting, you dare yourself to try and proceed to enjoy/agonize as you consume it spoonful by spoonful… and then you find yourself scraping the end and you just have to wonder, “Did I seriously just do that? Gross. (beat) But awesome.”

This blog will be exciting, thrilling, sexy, and sophisticated (much like the reputation of the students of Carnegie Mellon University). It’s How to Shoot a Movie in 10 Days. Maybe I can get Kate Hudson to play me and Matthew McConaughey to play the sexy-smart-but-contrary line producer who makes a bet with my assistant director that I can’t fit in all the dolly shots I want into Scene 15…

… Yeah, you’re right, that does sound like an awesome movie, and I will write that screenplay right after we wrap this production.

In the meantime, thank you to everyone who’s helped us get to this point – friends, family, supporters on Kickstarter, Carnegie Mellon University, Facebook friends of friends, Pittsburgh Filmmakers, BoringPittsburgh, Steeltown Entertainment, teachers and professors elementary school through present, and all the boys I’ve ever kissed. You know who you are. I hope.

Love from,

Yulin Kuang
Writer/Director – “First Kiss”
Currently sleepless

One Response to “Twas the night before production…”

  1. RK December 11, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    Awesome!
    Just a little reminder, a little more sleep can help to keep you cool, fresh and charming!

Leave a Reply

